What should laboratory peptide documentation list in the HPLC result block?
Laboratory peptide documentation that accompanies a research lot in Australia should make the HPLC result block reconstructable from the page itself. The block should identify the sample (lot number, sample name, date of analysis), the chromatographic method (column chemistry and dimensions, mobile phases, gradient or isocratic composition, flow rate, column temperature, autosampler volume, detection wavelength and bandwidth), and the reported result (area-per-cent purity and, when present, a separate assay). A peak table of retention time, relative retention time, area, area per cent, and peak name should accompany the chromatogram. A specification column such as NLT 95.0% chromatographic purity must be visually distinct from the result column so a reader can see whether the lot met a pre-declared limit.
Guidance on how to read a journal article stresses starting with identifiers, methods, and numerical results before interpretation, rather than skimming a headline figure (Darzins et al., 1992). Apply that order to a certificate of analysis. First confirm the lot on the HPLC block equals the lot on the header, the vial label, and the packing list. Second, read the method, because area per cent at 214 nm on a C18 2.6 µm column is not interchangeable with area per cent at 280 nm on a C4 column. Third, read the result and the specification together. Fourth, read footnotes that define exclusions and rounding. Certificates that omit the method, the peak table, or chromatogram axis labels are incomplete laboratory peptide documentation.
Local-stock inventory codes and tracked-dispatch consignment numbers should be written onto the COA copy so the HPLC result remains attached to the physical vials. One HPLC block may cover several vials only if every label carries that lot number. A filling number that the HPLC block does not mention breaks attribution. This is an archive-completeness test, not a statement about any human use.
How is HPLC area-normalisation purity calculated from the COA peak table?
Chromatographic purity on most peptide certificates is not an external-standard assay. It is an area-normalisation (100 per cent method) in which the main-peak area is divided by the sum of integrated peak areas and multiplied by 100. The denominator is the set of peaks the processing method was set to integrate after documented exclusions, not every deflection on the baseline. Typical exclusions are the void or solvent-front peak, designated system peaks, and peaks below a reporting threshold such as 0.05 per cent or 0.10 per cent of total area. Some methods also exclude a counterion-related peak quantified by a different technique.
Related substances do not share a single molar absorptivity at 214 nm or 220 nm, so area per cent is a chromatographic composition estimate, not a mass fraction of each impurity. Drop-line splitting of a shoulder, tangent skim of a rider peak, and a raised area threshold that drops a 0.08 per cent peak from the table will all move reported purity without any change to the vial. The COA should therefore state the processing-method name or the integration parameters (threshold, minimum area, peak width), or both.
Tabulated results have to be read as tables, not as slogans. Work on how tabulated results should be read warns against treating a single headline index as self-explanatory when the calculation rule is hidden (Bulduk et al., 2017). Reconstruct the headline purity from the peak table: sum the listed area-per-cent values; confirm they total 100 per cent after exclusions; confirm the main-peak row is the figure transcribed into the result column; confirm unidentified peaks are labelled with relative retention time. If the result column shows 99.5 per cent and the main-peak row shows 99.46 per cent, rounding has occurred. If the result column shows 99.5 per cent and no peak table is supplied, the calculation cannot be checked.
How does HPLC assay differ from chromatographic purity on the same certificate?
HPLC assay, when it appears on the same certificate as area-normalisation purity, is a different measurement. Assay compares the main-peak response of a prepared sample solution with the response of a reference standard at a stated concentration, then reports a mass/mass percentage of the powder. A simplified form is assay = (A_sample / A_standard) × (concentration_standard / concentration_sample) × standard_assigned_purity × 100, with dilution factors applied as the method requires. The weighed powder includes peptide, counterion, residual water, residual solvent, and any non-chromophoric residue that never appears in the HPLC peak table. Consequently a lot can show 99.0 per cent chromatographic purity and a much lower assay.
Net peptide content determined by amino-acid analysis or elemental nitrogen is a third figure. It is not interchangeable with HPLC assay or with area per cent. Laboratory peptide documentation should name each field explicitly—purity (HPLC, area per cent), assay (HPLC, as-is), assay (HPLC, anhydrous), net peptide content (AAA)—rather than printing a single purity 99% in a header. As-is versus anhydrous matters because a water correction changes the assay without changing the chromatogram. If the certificate does not state the basis, the number cannot be compared with another lot or another vendor.
Misreading one number as the other is reading a document as if it answered a different question. Philosophical work on how (not) to read a dense source is blunt about that error: the reader must not import a meaning the document does not support (Sheehan et al., 1995). A COA that reports only area-normalisation purity does not report how many milligrams of peptide are in a milligram of powder. A COA that reports only assay does not report the related-substance profile. Australian research buyers comparing lots before purchase should line the two fields up with method identifiers and refuse to rank lots by a single undifferentiated purity headline.
How should specification, result and method columns be read together?
A usable HPLC block is a three-column argument, not a single circled number. The method column (or method footer) names the procedure and version that produced the chromatogram. The specification column states the pre-declared limit: NLT (not less than), NMT (not more than), or a range, with explicit decimal places. The result column states the measured value with those decimal places, or a complies/does-not-comply transcription of the comparison. A result of 98.4 per cent is not interpretable without knowing whether the specification was NLT 95.0 per cent, NLT 98.0 per cent, or NLT 99.0 per cent, and without knowing whether the method was area normalisation at 214 nm or assay against a standard.
Limits and results must share a basis. If the specification is purity NLT 95.0 per cent (HPLC, area per cent, solvent peaks excluded) and the result is an as-is assay, the pass/fail call is invalid even if both numbers are large. If the specification was written for method SOP-HPLC-014 version 3 and the chromatogram header cites version 2, the lot was not tested to the specification that is printed. Where the certificate prints only passes without a numeric result, the archive cannot support later comparison with a second laboratory's number.
Rounding rules sit between result and specification. A measured 94.96 per cent reported as 95.0 per cent may meet an NLT 95.0 per cent limit only if the method's rounding rule is stated; otherwise record the peak-table value. Significant figures should not improve between the peak table and the result column. Australian research groups should require method identity and version, matching bases, a numeric result, and a rounding rule or peak-table precision. Finding the matching method card in a vendor portal is a documentation-search task of the kind described for locating the correct record among Australian data tools (Cavière, 2017).
How should chromatogram concordance and Australian lot filing confirm an HPLC result?
The chromatogram is the primary HPLC record; the result column is a transcription. Concordance checking confirms that the transcription belongs to this lot and this processing method. Read the chromatogram header: sample name, lot number, data-file name, instrument identity, method name, processing-method name, date and time of run, detection wavelength, and operator. Every string that also appears on the COA header must match. A chromatogram without a lot number, or with a different lot, cannot support the tabulated result.
Time in minutes should include the main peak and the last reported related substance. The y-axis in absorbance units (AU) should leave the baseline visible. The main-peak retention time on the figure must equal the peak-table value within ordinary rounding, and the sum of area-per-cent rows must reconstruct the reported purity after documented exclusions. A split main peak with a single table row means merged peaks; that merge should be stated. System-suitability figures (resolution, tailing factor, theoretical plates, blank-run statement) show whether the method was in a state to generate the table. Experimental chromatograms should be read with their conditions attached (Richmond, 1967).
The lot on the vial label, the COA header, the HPLC sample-information block, the chromatogram header, and the packing list must be the same string. Tracked dispatch is the consignment wrapper; record the consignment number with the COA. Local Australian stock may split one lot across consignments; the HPLC result remains lot-level unless a new lot number was issued at fill. In a vendor portal, download the COA whose lot string equals the vial, not a file that merely shares a catalogue name (Cavière, 2017). File chromatogram, peak table, and specification together. This practice does not authorise any human use and does not replace independent identity and purity measurements on an opened vial.
Apply this checklist to documented stock
You now have a practical way to read purity figures, method notes, and lot traceability. When you source materials, hold suppliers to that same checklist — ClaraScience issues batch documentation with every order and dispatches from Australian warehouses with Express tracked shipping.
Start with a retail order to review documentation end-to-end, or register for wholesale if you restock multiple compounds.
Frequently asked questions
Does a high HPLC area-per-cent purity mean the HPLC assay is also high?
No. Area-normalisation purity describes the share of integrated peak area assigned to the main peak after documented exclusions. Assay describes how much of the weighed powder is the peptide relative to a reference standard or a stated calculation basis. Residual water, counterion and non-chromophoric residue can lower assay while leaving area-per-cent purity high. Read both fields, and any net-content field, as separate results on laboratory peptide documentation.
Should solvent-front and counterion peaks enter the HPLC purity denominator?
Only when the method footnote says so. Many peptide methods exclude the void, solvent, and sometimes a designated system peak, then normalise remaining peptide-related peaks to 100 per cent. If laboratory peptide documentation does not state the exclusion rule and the reporting threshold, the reported purity cannot be reconstructed from the peak table and should not be compared with another lot.
What if a COA reports HPLC purity without a chromatogram or peak table?
Treat the number as unsupported. A purity result without a peak table, a method identifier, and a lot-concordant chromatogram cannot be checked for integration artefacts, excluded peaks, or lot mix-up. Request the chromatogram, the processing-method identity, and the specification the number is claimed to meet before filing the lot.
How do I match an HPLC data-file name to a lot received in Australia?
Read the sample-information block for sample name, lot number, date of analysis, and data-file or report number. Those strings should reappear on the chromatogram header. File the COA against the vial label and the tracked-dispatch consignment. If a filling number on the vial is absent from the HPLC block, attribution is incomplete.
What does NLT 95.0% mean beside an HPLC result?
Not less than 95.0 per cent is a specification limit, not the measured result. Read the result column for the measured area per cent or assay, then compare it with the limit using the same decimal places. A peak-table value of 94.96 per cent printed as 95.0 per cent should be interpreted against the method's rounding rule if one is stated.
Is retention-time identity enough without a mass result on the COA?
Retention time against a reference standard, within a documented window, is a chromatographic identity test. It does not distinguish co-eluting isomeric species. Orthogonal mass confirmation is a separate field. Absence of a mass result does not invalidate the HPLC purity table, but it limits how far identity can be claimed from HPLC alone.
References
- DOI:10.1002/asi.5090180408 — Suggestions on how to read experimental material in information science — American Documentation — 1967
- DOI:10.5694/j.1326-5377.1992.tb137249.x — 13. How to read a journal article — Medical Journal of Australia — 1992
- DOI:10.5840/acpq199569241 — How (Not) To Read Heidegger — American Catholic Philosophical Quarterly — 1995
- DOI:10.3897/tdwgproceedings.1.19941 — Documentation about Atlas of Living Australia tools: how to find information — Proceedings of TDWG — 2017
- DOI:10.7816/ulakbilge-05-15-06 — HOW TO BE READ PIAAC RESULTS FOR ADAPTATION TO NEW AGE? — Ulakbilge Dergisi — 2017
Research use only
This article is provided for laboratory research and educational purposes only. Products referenced are not for human or veterinary use. ClaraScience makes no therapeutic, medical, or efficacy claims, and nothing here constitutes medical advice.