Which structural class does each peptide belong to?
The first analytical question is not which catalogue code is cheaper; it is whether the two names even describe the same structural class. They do not. Ipamorelin is a C-terminally amidated pentapeptide that incorporates non-proteinogenic residues: 2-aminoisobutyric acid (Aib), D-2-naphthylalanine (D-2-Nal) and D-phenylalanine, with a C-terminal lysinamide. That sequence, commonly written Aib-His-D-2-Nal-D-Phe-Lys-NH2, is the identity specification against which a mass spectrum, a tandem-MS fragment map and, where performed, an amino-acid analysis must be reconciled. Raun and co-workers reported ipamorelin as a selective growth hormone secretagogue in this pentapeptide series (PMID:9849822). Later work frames the same chemotype as a growth hormone secretagogue receptor 1a (GHS-R1a) agonist (PMID:39043357) and discusses growth hormone-releasing peptides in relation to ghrelin-receptor ligands rather than GHRH analogues (PMID:11322495). Independent structural studies have documented the similarity between ghrelin N-terminal derivatives and peptidyl growth hormone secretagogues, which is useful when assigning diagnostic ions or designing receptor-directed tracers (PMID:11396951; PMID:30282322).
CJC-1295 is a 29-residue analogue of GHRH(1–29). Four substitutions relative to native GHRH(1–29) are used to limit dipeptidyl peptidase-IV cleavage of the peptide chain in vitro. Many research lots additionally carry a maleimidopropionyl Drug Affinity Complex (DAC) on a C-terminal lysine. The maleimide is a distinct functional group: it changes monoisotopic mass, reversed-phase retention, nucleophile reactivity and the impurity catalogue (maleimide hydrolysis to maleamic acid, incomplete conjugation, thiol adducts). A CoA that does not state DAC or no DAC / Mod GRF 1-29 has not specified the analyte.
Consequently, Ipamorelin and CJC-1295 must not share an expected m/z, a single HPLC gradient or a combined related-substance table. Open two identity files, two methods and two acceptance criteria.
How should a laboratory compare Ipamorelin vs CJC-1295 on HPLC-MS?
Identity testing for these two research peptides is an intact-mass problem first and a fragment-ion problem second. For ipamorelin, electrospray spectra are dominated by [M+H]+ near m/z 712.4 and [M+2H]2+ near m/z 356.7, with a theoretical monoisotopic mass of approximately 711.4 Da for the amidated pentapeptide C38H49N9O5. High-resolution data should recover the monoisotopic peak within the method's mass-error window (commonly 50–100 ppm at this mass). Tandem MS of the [M+H]+ or [M+2H]2+ precursor should yield fragment ions consistent with Aib-His, the D-2-Nal residue and C-terminal lysinamide.
CJC-1295 cannot be identified on that same scan range. The 29-mer produces a charge envelope, typically 4+ through 7+, that must be deconvoluted to a neutral monoisotopic or average mass. Lots without DAC cluster near 3.37 kDa; lots with a maleimidopropionyl DAC cluster near 3.65 kDa. Those two values are not interchangeable. A CoA that reports CJC-1295, MW 3368 for a DAC-labelled vial, or the reverse, has failed identity before purity is even considered. Maleimide hydrolysis (water addition, +18 Da) and incomplete conjugation are mass shifts that should be listed as related substances, not buried inside a wide deconvolution window.
A practical comparison protocol therefore uses two instrument methods: a low-mass ESI method for ipamorelin and a deconvolution method for CJC-1295, each with its own calibrant, tune file and system-suitability standard. Record the theoretical mass for the exact sequence on the CoA, the observed deconvoluted mass, the mass error, the charge states used, and whether DAC occupancy was confirmed. If those fields are blank, the laboratory does not yet have an identity result.
Which reversed-phase HPLC conditions separate each peptide and its related substances?
Reversed-phase HPLC is the purity workhorse, but the two analytes do not share a method. Ipamorelin is a compact, relatively hydrophobic pentapeptide (aromatic D-2-Nal and D-Phe). It typically elutes as a sharp peak on a C18 column (2.1–4.6 mm i.d., 100–150 mm, 2.5–5 µm) with a water/acetonitrile gradient containing 0.05–0.1% trifluoroacetic acid or formic acid as the ion-pair reagent. Because the peptide is short, resolution of deletion sequences (des-Aib, des-Lys-NH2) and diastereomers is the critical pair, not the main-peak capacity factor alone. A shallow gradient through the elution window, a defined peak-width at half-height, and a reporting threshold (commonly 0.10% or 0.50% area, stated on the specification) should appear in the method.
CJC-1295 requires a wider organic window and a shallower slope across a much larger peptide. The 29-mer can display conformational broadening, aspartimide-related shoulders (the sequence contains Asp) and, for DAC lots, a more retained maleimide species plus earlier-eluting hydrolysed maleimide. Ion-pairing choice matters: TFA generally sharpens basic 29-mers but suppresses ESI if the HPLC method is split to MS; formic acid is MS-friendlier and may reduce apparent purity if peak shape degrades. Laboratories should not compare a TFA-UV purity number for ipamorelin with a formic-acid-MS purity number for CJC-1295 and call the difference a quality ranking.
System suitability must be peptide-specific: retention-time window, tailing factor, theoretical plates or peak width, and a resolution criterion for a named critical pair. Report chromatographic purity as area-% of the main peak after excluding diluent and known counterion artefacts, and list every peak above the reporting threshold with relative retention time. That table, not a single purity >98% line, is what makes two lots comparable.
What related-substance catalogues should appear on each CoA?
Related substances are where the two peptides diverge most. For ipamorelin, the expected catalogue is that of a short solid-phase synthesis: deletion sequences (missing Aib, His, D-2-Nal, D-Phe or Lys), truncated C-terminal acid instead of amide (−1 Da relative to the amide if compared carelessly), racemisation at His or at the intended D-residues, and residual protecting-group fragments. Because the chain is only five residues, a single deletion is a large relative mass change and should be baseline-resolved on HPLC if the gradient is adequate. Unidentified peaks above the reporting threshold should be footnoted with m/z if LC-MS was run.
For CJC-1295 the catalogue is that of a 29-mer plus, where relevant, a maleimide. Deletion and insertion sequences, aspartimide and iso-aspartate at Asp, deamidation at Gln, oxidation at Tyr, and truncated GHRH fragments are all plausible. DAC lots add maleimide hydrolysis (+18 Da), thiosuccinimide or cysteine adducts if thiols were present in work-up, and unconjugated peptide. Reporting purity 99% without a DAC occupancy value is incomplete characterisation: a 99% UV-pure peak can still be a mixture of maleimide and maleamic acid if they co-elute. Orthogonal LC-MS extracted-ion traces for the intact maleimide and the +18 Da species resolve that ambiguity.
Do not pool the two catalogues. An unidentified +18 Da peak is a different investigation for a pentapeptide (water adduct, hydration in the source, or a true related substance) than for a DAC 29-mer (maleimide hydrolysis). Likewise, a −1 Da shift on ipamorelin often flags the C-terminal acid; on CJC-1295 it may flag deamidation. The CoA should name the synthesis route (Fmoc-SPPS), the purification mode (preparative RP-HPLC), and whether related substances were identified or merely integrated as area-%.
How do counterion and net peptide content change the labelled milligram quantity?
A vial labelled 10 mg does not automatically contain 10 mg of anhydrous, counterion-free peptide. Both ipamorelin and CJC-1295 are typically isolated as trifluoroacetate or acetate salts after preparative HPLC, and both are hygroscopic lyophilisates. The labelled milligram quantity is therefore a gross fill mass unless the CoA states net peptide content (NPC). NPC is usually obtained by combining chromatographic purity with a nitrogen- or amino-acid-based peptide assay, or by correcting a gravimetric fill for counterion (19F NMR or ion chromatography for TFA; HPLC or IC for acetate) and water (Karl Fischer). Without those corrections, two lots with identical HPLC area-% can differ substantially in peptide mass per vial.
The discrepancy is larger for the 29-mer. CJC-1295 carries many basic residues (Arg, Lys) and can bind several TFA equivalents; ipamorelin has fewer basic sites (His, Lys-NH2) but is still commonly a TFA salt. Expressing price per milligram against uncorrected fill mass therefore ranks a high-TFA 29-mer as cheaper than a well-exchanged acetate pentapeptide when the opposite may be true on a net-peptide basis. Australian research buyers comparing Ipamorelin and CJC-1295 on cost should normalise to NPC and to counterion identity, not to the numeral printed on the cap.
Documentation that supports that normalisation includes: counterion identity and, preferably, weight-%; water content; HPLC purity; peptide content by AAA or elemental nitrogen; appearance (white to off-white lyophilisate); and the calculation that converts those figures into milligrams of peptide per vial. If the supplier quotes only 10 mg, >98%, the laboratory cannot complete a mass-balance. Counterion exchange (TFA to acetate) is a separate process step and should have its own residual-TFA specification; residual TFA is an analytical impurity, not a selling point.
What batch documentation should Australian laboratories require before purchase?
When an Australian laboratory evaluates Ipamorelin vs CJC-1295 as catalogue items, the discriminating documents are the same even though the analytes are not: a lot-specific CoA, the raw HPLC chromatogram, the mass spectrum (and deconvolution for the 29-mer), a statement of sequence including DAC status, counterion and water, net peptide content, and a batch number that can be cross-referenced to the vial label. Local stock and tracked dispatch matter because they preserve the chain of custody from warehouse to bench; they do not replace identity testing. A supplier that cannot produce the chromatogram for the lot on the vial is not offering a comparable product, regardless of price.
Minimum CoA fields for either peptide: appearance; sequence or structural formula; theoretical monoisotopic or average mass; observed mass and error; HPLC column, gradient, detection wavelength and area-% purity; related-substance table; counterion; water; peptide content; residual solvents if claimed; and the analytical method identifiers. For CJC-1295 add DAC / no-DAC in the material name, maleimide occupancy if DAC is claimed, and the deconvoluted charge envelope. For ipamorelin add confirmation of C-terminal amidation and, where claimed, stereochemical notes for the D-residues.
Lot traceability should include manufacture or purification batch, fill lot if different, number of vials filled, and a unique CoA identifier. Label these materials as laboratory reagents only. ClaraScience's research supply model is built around batch documentation accompanying Australian-held stock and tracked dispatch. Compare the two peptides on chemotype, mass, HPLC method, related substances and NPC; do not compare them on a shared purity percentage or a shared milligram price. If a field required above is missing, the correct procurement action is to request the data, not to assume the other peptide is a substitute.
Order Cjc 1295 or Ipamorelin with documentation
This guide focused on how laboratories verify identity and purity for Cjc 1295 and Ipamorelin. If that evaluation is complete, you can move from documentation review into research-grade stock held in Australian warehouses, with Express tracked dispatch and a COA tied to each order.
Jump straight to the product card on the ClaraScience shop to add research-grade stock, or open wholesale access if you restock at volume.
Frequently asked questions
Are Ipamorelin and CJC-1295 the same research peptide?
No. Ipamorelin is a five-residue GHS-R1a ligand with non-proteinogenic amino acids and a C-terminal amide. CJC-1295 is a 29-residue GHRH analogue, optionally conjugated to a maleimidopropionyl DAC. They do not share sequence, mass, HPLC method or related-substance catalogue. Specify each analyte separately on the purchase order and on the CoA.
Can one reversed-phase HPLC method serve both peptides?
No. Ipamorelin is a short, relatively hydrophobic pentapeptide that elutes in a narrow acetonitrile window on C18. CJC-1295 is a basic 29-mer that needs a wider gradient and, for DAC lots, resolution of maleimide from hydrolysed maleimide. Area-% values from different ion-pair reagents or detection modes are not a valid ranking of lot quality.
How can a CoA show whether CJC-1295 includes the DAC maleimide?
The material name must state DAC or no DAC (sometimes styled Mod GRF 1-29). Intact mass should cluster near 3.65 kDa with DAC and near 3.37 kDa without. If the name, theoretical mass and deconvoluted mass disagree, identity is not established. Request the charge envelope and a maleimide occupancy value for DAC lots.
Why is a labelled 10 mg vial not a like-for-like quantity?
Both peptides are lyophilised salts. The labelled milligram quantity is a gross fill unless net peptide content, counterion weight-% and water are reported. CJC-1295 generally binds more TFA per milligram of peptide than ipamorelin. Normalise cost and content to net peptide, not to the numeral on the vial cap.
What intact mass should an ipamorelin lot display?
The amidated pentapeptide has a theoretical monoisotopic mass of approximately 711.4 Da, typically observed as [M+H]+ near m/z 712.4 and [M+2H]2+ near m/z 356.7. The CoA should state theoretical mass, observed mass and error. A kilodalton envelope matching CJC-1295 does not confirm ipamorelin identity.
Are Ipamorelin and CJC-1295 supplied as human medicines?
No. In this research-supply context both substances are laboratory reagents for identity, purity and documentation work only. They are not medicines, and a CoA is not a use instruction. Verify lot documentation before procurement and do not read receptor-class names in the cited literature as applied claims.
References
- PMID:9849822 — Ipamorelin, the first selective growth hormone secretagogue — Eur J Endocrinol — 1998
- PMID:39043357 — The growth hormone secretagogue receptor 1a agonists, anamorelin and ipamorelin, inhibit cisplatin-induced weight loss in ferrets: Anamorelin also exhibits anti-emetic effects via a central mechanism — Physiol Behav — 2024
- PMID:11322495 — Do growth hormone-releasing peptides act as ghrelin secretagogues? — Endocrine — 2001
- PMID:11396951 — Structural similarity of ghrelin derivatives to peptidyl growth hormone secretagogues — Biochem Biophys Res Commun — 2001
- PMID:30282322 — Peptidomimetic growth hormone secretagogue derivatives for positron emission tomography imaging of the ghrelin receptor — Eur J Med Chem — 2018
Research use only
This article is provided for laboratory research and educational purposes only. Products referenced are not for human or veterinary use. ClaraScience makes no therapeutic, medical, or efficacy claims, and nothing here constitutes medical advice.